BRAZOS COUNTY

HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
200 S. TEXAS AVE SUITE 206, BRYAN,TX 77803
PHONE (979) 361-4181 FAX (979) 823-6993

Workers” Compensation Injury Checklist for Supervisors

Below is an abbreviated checklist which summarizes the county responsibilities when reporting an injury and
ensures compliance with the Texas Labor Code.

When an Injury Occurs...

[ Have the employee fill out the Employee Report of Injury Form. Discuss with the employee, if necessary, the
facts of the accident.

[ Supervisor completes the Employer’s First Report of Injury (DWC-1) form. Do not ask the injured worker to
complete this form. The DWC-1 is an employer-required form.

[ Supervisor submits the completed Employer’s First Report of Injury (DWC-1) form and the Employee Report
of Injury Form to Human Resources via email HR@brazoscountytx.gov or fax 979-823-6993.

Items for the Injured Worker
[J Human Resources will send a copy of the DWC-1 and the following documents to the injured worker:
[J MyMatrixx Flyer (serves as a temporary prescription card)

[J Notice of Injured Employee Rights and Responsibilities in the Texas Workers’ Compensation
System

Communication with the Medical Provider

U Ensure the provider is aware the accident is/was work-related. The TAC RMP Notification of WC Coverage
Provider can be used for this purpose.

Questions concerning this document or injury reporting? Contact Human Resources at (979) 361-4181.
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Work— 1r»,elatedfinjury occurs and employee reports to a Supervisor

Workers’ Compensation Injury and Claim Reporting Process

Supervisor must
report any work-
related injury or

death to

Human Resources

immediately.

y

HR must file DWC-1 (First Report

of Injury) with TAC RMP and the

injured worker within 8 calendar
days per Texas Labor Code

§409.005.
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If necessary, Supervisor must
send injured worker to
emergency facility or an

Alliance Doctor. List available at

WWW.PSWCa.org. )

Wages must be reported to

Yes

Lost time

determine correct income benefit
rate. The DWC-3 (Employers’

beyond 7
days?

I

Supervisor must report return
to work date to HR. The
DW(C-6 (Supplemental Report
of Injury) must be filed with
TAC RMP and the injured
worker within 3 days per
Texas Labor Code §409.005.
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No

Wage Statement) must be filed
with TAC RMP and injured worker
per Texas Labor Code §408.063.

County must pay full salary
for Law Enforcement
Officers.

Additional
Lost Time?

Supervisor must report additional
lost time to HR. The DWC-6
(Supplemental Report of Injury)
must be filed with TAC RMP and the
injured worker within 3 days of
additional time off work per Texas
Labor Code §409.005.
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Workers’ Compensation Injury and Claim Reporting Details

An injured worker must report an on the job injury to a supervisor or someone acting in a supervisory capacity within 30
days of the injury or within 30 days of the date the injured worker knew or should have known about an occupational
illness."

When an injury is reported, the employer is required to report it to the TAC (York Risk Services) on the DWC-1, First
Report of Injury form within 8 calendar days2. Failure to file this form timely or properly can result in an Administrative
Violation for the county in the event of an audit or complaint.

Depending on the severity of the injury, the supervisor should assist the injured worker with medical treatment. The injured
worker may treat with a doctor or his or her choosing or must treat with an Alliance doctor if the county makes the Alliance

mandatory for its employees. The provider list is located at www.pswca.org. Please ensure that the injured worker notifies
his or her medical provider of the work-related incident to avoid medical bill filing with a healthcare insurance company.

Communicable Diseases and Required Testing

If the injured worker is a law enforcement officer, EMS employee, paramedic, fire fighter or correctional officer, and is
exposed to any of the following communicable diseases, he or she is required to be tested for the following communicable
diseases® within 10 days of the exposure.

“Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS); amebiasis; anthrax; botulism--adult and infant; brucellosis;
campylobacteriosis; chancroid; chickenpox; Chlamydia trachomatis infection; cholera; cryptosporidiosis; dengue;
diphtheria; ehrlichiosis; encephalitis; Escherichia coli 0157:H7; gonorrhea; Hansen's disease (leprosy); Heamophilus
influenzae type b infection, invasive; hantavirus infection; hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS); hepatitis, acute viral: human
immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection, legionellosis; listeriosis; Lyme disease; malaria; measles (Rubeola); meningitis;
meningococcal infection, invasive; mumps; pertussis; plague; poliomyelitis, acute paralytic; rabies in man; relapsing fever;
Rocky Mountain spotted fever; rubella (including congenital); salmonellosis, including typhoid fever: shigellosis;
streptococcal disease, invasive Group A; syphilis; tetanus; trichinosis; tuberculosis; tuberculosis infection in persons less
than 15 years of age; typhus; Vibrio infection; viral hemorrhagic fevers; and yellow fever.”

This list of diseases may change from time to time. To determine the most current list of reportable diseases and exposure
criteria refer to Texas Department of Health rules, 25 TAC Chapter 97, Communicable Diseases.

Full Salary for Law Enforcement Officers

According to Texas Constitution Article 3 Section 52e, an opinion by the Texas Attorney General regarding detention
officers, an appellate court's opinion regarding a specific case as presented by detention officers, and a Supreme Court
opinion, counties are obligated to continue full salary for an injured law enforcement official.

Employee Resignation or Termination

The county is also required to report when an employee is terminated or resigns. The county has 10 days after the
termination or resignation date to file a DWC-6: Supplemental Report of Injury with the TAC RMP Third Party
Administrator, York Risk Services Group and the injured worker4.

For more information concerning workers’ compensation required claim reporting, contact

Texas Labor Code §409.001
Texas Labor Code §409.005
Division of Workers’ Compensation Rule §122.3
DWC Rule §120.3
(512) 478-8753 + (800) 456-5974 * (512) 615-8942 FAX * www.county.org * 1210 San Antonio, Austin, TX 78701 « P.O. Box 2131, Austin, TX 78768-2131
Gene Terry, Executive Director
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EMPLOYEE'S REPORT OF INJURY

Dear Employee:

We have received a report that you were injured in the course of your employment. To process your claim efficiently,
please fill in all lines completely and print legibly. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

Name: Social Security: Gender: M / F
Last First Ml Maiden
Address: Date of Injury:
City: State:
Employer:
Primary Phone Number:
Secondary Phone Number: Job Title:
Email address: Work Schedule:

1)  What was the exact location of the accident (street address if possible):

2) What was happening at the time? (What was going on around you, what were you doing, what were other people doing)

3) Briefly describe what exactly caused the injury:

4) What areas of your body were injured?

5) When and to whom did you report your injury? Date Time
Name: Title Phone Number:
6) List all known witnesses. (Continue on back if necessary) Name Phone:
Name Phone: Name: Phone:
7) Please identify your Primary Care Physician or family doctor: Name: Phone:

8) Please list the names and phone numbers of all doctors or treatment providers you have seen for your injury:

Name: Phone:
Name: Phone:
Name: Phone:
9) Has a doctor taken you off work? __ Yes No If so, when was the first day you missed work ?
10) If the doctor took you off work, have you returned to work? Yes No If not, when do you think you will return to
work?
11) Date of Last Appointment: 11) Date of Next Appointment:
12) Have you had previous workers compensation injuries? Yes No If Yes, please enter dates of injuries and the body parts injured.

By affixing my signature, | attest that all information on this form is accurate and true.

Signature: Date:
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DWC001

m Division of Workers’ Complete if known:
Compensation DWC claim #

Insurance carrier claim #

Employer’s first report of injury or illness

Part 1: Injured employee information

1. Name (first, middle, last) 2. Address (street or PO box, city, state, ZIP code)
3. Phone number | 4. Email address 5. Social Security number | 6. Date of birth
/dd/
(XXX-XX-XXXX) (mm/ad/yyyy)
7. Marital status 8. Sex D Female D Male |:| Other
9. Spouse’s name (first, middle, last) 10. Number of dependent children

11. Does the employee speak English? Yes No If no, specify language
12. Doctor’s name (first, last) 13. Doctor’s mailing address (street or PO box, city, state, ZIP code)

Part 2: Injury information

14. Date of injury or illness 15. Time of injury 16. First day absent from work
(mmy/dd/yyyy) : |:| a.m. or I:‘ p.m. (mm/dd/yyyy)
17. Supervisor’'s name (first, last) 18. Date injury reported (mm/dd/yyyy)

19. Nature of injury or illness (Examples: cut, burn, bruise, fracture, | 20. Body parts affected
sprain, chemical burn. For more than one injury, list the most serious injury.)

21. Describe in detail how and why the injury, illness, or death occurred (Include the events leading up to
the injury or illness, state the actual injury, and list the reasons why the accident or injury occurred.)

22. Reported cause of injury (Examples: overexertion due to lifting or pushing, slip, trip, fall.)

23. Was the employee doing their regular job? [ Jves [ ]No

24. Address and name of the location where the injury, exposure, or death occurred (business name,
street or PO box, city, state, ZIP code)

25. List all witnesses (first, last names)

DWCO001 Rev. 10/24 Page 1 of 3




DWC001
26. Number of days absent from work, not including the day of injury or the day of return to work

|:| One day or less (work-related illness only) D Two to seven days D Eight days or more
27. Return-to-work date (mm/dd/yyyy) 28. Did the employee die? Yes No

D Actual date or D Expected date | If yes, provide the date of death. (mm/dd/yyyy)

Part 3: Employment information

29. Date of hire (mm/dd/yyyy) 30. Occupation of injured employee
31. Length of service in current position 32. Length of service in current occupation
Years Months Years Months
33. Employee payroll classification code 34. Was the employee hired or recruited in Texas?
Yes No
35. Rate of pay at this job 36. Full work week is 37. Last paycheck was
$ Hourly $ Weekly Hours Days | $ for Hours or Days
38. Is the employee an owner, partner, or corporate officer? Yes No

Part 4: Employer information

39. Name and title of person completing form | 40. Business name
(first, middle, last, title)

41. Business mailing address (street or PO box, city, | 42. Phone number | 43. Email address
state, ZIP code)

44. Business location (if different from mailing address) 45. Federal employer identification number
74-6000433

46. Primary North American Industry 47. Specific NAICS | 48. Texas comptroller taxpayer

Classification System (NAICS) code (six digits) | code (six digits) number

49. Workers' compensation insurance carrier 50. Policy number

Texas Assoc. of Counties Risk Management Po

51. Did you request accident prevention services in the past 12 months? Yes [* [No

If yes, did you receive them? Yes |* [No

Part 5: Certification
52. Certify with your signature:

| certify the information in this form is true and correct.

Signature Date

DWCO001 Rev. 10/24 Page 2 of 3




DWC001
FAQ
Employer’s first report of injury or illness

Who do | send this form to?

Send this form to your workers' compensation insurance carrier and to the injured employee or the injured employee’s
representative. Do not send this form to the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation
(DWCQ), unless DWC specifically requests it.

When do | need to send this form?

You must send the DWC Form-001 within eight days after:
1. The employee’s first day of absence from work due to the injury;
2. You receive notice of occupational disease; or
3. An employee dies.

Why do | need to send this form?
Employers must file this form so the insurance carrier has the information they need to begin the claims process. You
may be fined if you fail to send this report without having a good reason (good cause.)

How should | send this form?
You can file the form with the insurance carrier and send it to the injured employee or the injured employee’s
representative by email, fax, U.S. Postal Service, or personal delivery.

Do | need to keep a copy of this form?

Yes, you should keep a copy of this form to serve as the Employer’s Record of Injury required by Texas Labor Code
Section 409.006. For more requirements refer to DWC rule 120.2, Employer’s first report of injury and notice of injured
employee rights and responsibilities.

Questions?
Call 800-252-7031, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Central time.
Go to www.tdi.texas.gov/wc to learn more about workers’ compensation.

Note: With few exceptions, on your request, you are entitled to:
e Beinformed about the information DWC collects about you.
e Receive and review the information (Government Code Sections 552.021 and 552.023).
e Have DWC correct information that is incorrect (Government Code Section 559.004).

For more information, contact DWClegalServices@tdi.texas.gov or go to the Corrections Procedure section at
www.tdi.texas.gov.

DWCO001 Rev. 10/24 Page 3 of 3



Workers’ Compensation Medical Provider Notice

To whom it may concern:

Brazos County is covered by The Texas Association of Counties Risk Management Pool for compensable workers’
compensation injuries. The Pool contracts with Sedgwick to adjust its claims. All medical bills, reports and other
supporting documentation may be submitted to the following address for consideration:

TAC Risk Management Pool - Sedgwick
P.O. Box 14152
Lexington, KY 40512-4152

800.752.6301
859.264.4061 (fax)

US-YORK-tacdwcforms@sedgwick.com

Please note, all bills are subject to retrospective review, reconsideration, and preauthorization under the Texas
Workers’ Compensation Act.

With the exception of emergency treatment, if the county participates in the Political Subdivision Workers’
Compensation Alliance (Alliance), the treating doctor must be chosen from a list of Alliance doctors located at
www.pswca.org. Please contact your adjuster at the number above for additional information.




MyMatrixx

By £EVERNORTH

8 To the Injured Worker:

On your first visit, please give this form to any
pharmacy listed on the back side to speed pro-
cessing of your approved work-related injury
prescriptions (based on the guidelines established
by your emp|oyer)_ Street Address or PO Box

Questions or need assistance locating a partici-

Employee Information

Full Name

pating retail network pharmacy? Call the City State ZIP
MyMatrixx Patient Care Contact Center at
800.945.5951. Date of Birth

Atencion Trabajador Lesionado:
Employer Name

En su primera visita, entregue este formulario a

cualquier farmacia que se encuentre en el reverso

del boleto para acelerar el procesamiento de sus

recetas aprobadas para lesiones relacionadas con R

el trabajo (segun las reglas establecidas por su i To the Pharmacist:

empleador).

MyMatrixx administers this administers this oc-
cupational accident prescription program. Please
follow the steps below to submit a claim. Stand-
contacto para pacientes de MyMatrixx al ard first fill shall not gxceed _a 14-Qay supply or a
800.945.5951 cost of $1500.00. Thls form is Va..|ld. for up to 30
days from date of injury (DOI). Limitations may

. vary.
/ Temporary Prescription Card \ y

D#: C:@ sedgwick For assistance, please call MyMatrixx at
' ’ 888.786.9640.

¢ Tiene preguntas o necesita ayuda para localizar
una farmacia participante? Llame al centro de

Your SSN is your temporary ID. Present at Pharmacy.

RxBIN#: 003858
PCN: WC
RxGroup #: GJC7937

Date of Injury:

Processing Steps:

Enter RxBin 003858

Enter PCN WC

Enter Rx Group Number GJC7937
Enter 9-digit member ID (Patient SSN)
Enter Date of Injury

MM/DD/YYYY
For Workers’ Compensation Only
\ /

Visit www.MyMatrixx.com to locate a participating pharmacy near you!

ok wnN =

© 2024 MyMatrixx Healthcare Services, Inc. | An Evernorth Company. All Rights Reserved.


http://www.mymatrixx.com/

MyMatrixx

By EVERNORTH

Participating Pharmacy List

AHF PHARMACY

AHOLD CORPORATION
ALBERTSONS

ALIGNRX LLC

AMERITA INC

AURORA PHARMACY INC

BIG Y FOODS INC

BI-LO HOLDINGS LLC
BROOKS/MAXI DRUG
BROOKSHIRE BROTHERS LTD
BROOKSHIRE GROCERY CO
CARDINAL HEALTH

CHEN NEIGHBORHOOD MEDI-
CAL CENT

COBORN'S INC.

COSTCO WHOLESALE, INC
CVS CORP

DEDICATED US HOLDINGS LLC
DISCOUNT DRUG MART
ECKERD

EPIC PHARMACY NETWORK
ESSENTIA HEALTH

EXPRESS RX

FAIRVIEW PHARMACY SVCS
FAMILY FARE, LLC

FOOD LION PHARMACY
FRUTH PHARMACY

GENOA HEALTHCARE LLC
GIANT EAGLE PHARMACY
GUARDIAN PHARMACY LLC
HAC INC

HANNAFORD BROS. CO.
HARPS FOOD STORES INC
HARTIG DRUG

HEALTH MART ATLAS LLC
H-E-B LP

HENRY FORD HEALTH SYSTEM
HOMETOWN PHARMCY INC
HY-VEE FOOD STORES INC
INGLES MARKETS
INSTYMEDS CORP

KPH HEALTHCARE SERVICES
KS PHARM LLC

K-VA-T FOOD STORES INC
LEWIS DRUGS INC

LONGS DRUG STORE

MARC GLASSMAN INC
MEDICAP PHARMACY, INC.
MEDICINE SHOPPE

MEIJER PHARMACY

MERCY PHARMACY SERVICES

NCS HEALTHCARE
NEIGHBORCARE PHARMACY
OSBORN DRUGS INC
PATIENT FIRST
PHARMEDQUEST PHARMACY
PHARMERICA, INC

PMR US HOLDINGS
PRESBYTERIAN MEDICAL
PRESCRIBEIT RX

PRICE CHOPPER PHARMACY
PUBLIX SUPER MARKETS, INC
RALEY'S

RECEPT PHARMACY LP

RITE AID CORPORATION
SAFEWAY, INC.

SAM'S CLUB

SUPERVALU PHARMACIES, INC.
TARGET

THRIFTY WHITE STORES
TOPS MARKETS LLC

UNITED SUPERMARKETS INC
WALGREENS

WAL-MART

WEGMANS FOOD MARKETS,
WEIS MARKETS INC

Visit www.MyMatrixx.com to locate a participating pharmacy near you!

© 2024 MyMatrixx Healthcare Services, Inc. | An Evernorth Company. All Rights Reserved.
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\2\ OFFICE OF INJURED EMPLOYEE COUNSEL

Notice of Injured Employee Rights and Responsibilities in the Texas Workers’ Compensation System

As an injured employee in Texas, you have the right to free assistance from the Office of Injured Employee Counsel
(OIEC). This assistance is offered at local offices across the State. These local offices also provide other workers’
compensation system services from the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI). TDI is the State agency that administers
and regulates the workers’ compensation system through the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC).

Many services provided by OIEC and DWC can be completed over the telephone. You can contact OIEC by calling the
toll-free telephone number 1-866-EZE-OIEC (1-866-393-6432). Additional information, including office locations, is
available on the Internet at: www.oiec.texas.gov. You can contact DWC by calling the toll-free telephone number 1-800-
252-7031. Information about DWC is available on the Internet at: www.tdi.texas.gov.

Your Rights in the Texas Workers’ Compensation System:

1.

You have the right to hire an attorney to help you with your workers’ compensation claim.
For assistance locating an attorney, contact the State Bar of Texas’ lawyer referral service at 1-877-983-9227 or
http://www.texasbar.com/. Attorney referral information can also be found on OIEC’s website at www.oiec.texas.gov.

You have the right to receive assistance from OIEC if you do not have an attorney.

OIEC Customer Service Representatives and Ombudsmen are available to answer your questions and provide
assistance with your workers’ compensation claim by calling OIEC or visiting an OIEC office. You must sign a
written authorization before an OIEC employee can access information on your claim. Call or visit an OIEC
office to fill out the written authorization. Customer Service Representatives and Ombudsmen are trained in the field
of workers’ compensation and can help you with scheduling a dispute resolution proceeding about your workers’
compensation claim. An Ombudsman can also assist you at a benefit review conference (BRC), contested case
hearing (CCH), and an appeal. However, Ombudsmen cannot make decisions for you or give legal advice.

You may have the right to receive medical and income benefits regardless of who was at fault for your injury,
with certain exceptions. Your beneficiaries may be entitled to death and burial benefits.
Information about the exceptions can be found at www.tdi.texas.gov or by visiting with OIEC staff.

You may have the right to receive medical care to treat your workplace injury or illness for as long as it is
medically necessary and related to the workplace injury.

You may have the right to reimbursement of your incurred expenses after traveling to attend a medical appointment or
required medical examination if the trip meets qualifying conditions.

You may have the right to receive income benefits for your work-related injury.

There are several types of income benefits and eligibility requirements. Information on the types of income benefits
that may be available and the eligibility requirements can be found at www.tdi.texas.gov or by visiting with OIEC
staff.

You may have the right to dispute resolution regarding income and medical benefits.

You may request Medical Dispute Resolution if you disagree with the insurance carrier regarding medical benefits.
You may request Indemnity (Income) Dispute Resolution if you disagree with the insurance carrier regarding income
benetits. The law provides that your dispute proceedings will be held within 75 miles from your residence.

You have the right to choose a treating doctor.

If you are in a Workers’ Compensation Health Care Network (network), you must choose your doctor from the
network’s treating doctor list. You may change your treating doctor once without network approval. If you are not in
a network, you may initially choose any doctor who is willing to treat your workers’ compensation injury; however,

1



changing your treating doctor must be pre-approved by the DWC if you are not in a network. If you are employed by
a political subdivision (e.g. city, county, school district,) you must follow its rules for choosing a treating doctor. It is
important to follow all the rules in the workers’ compensation system. If you do not follow these rules, you may be
held responsible for payment of medical bills. OIEC staff can help you to understand these rules.

. You have the right for your workers’ compensation claim information to be kept confidential.

In most cases, the contents of your claim file cannot be obtained by others. Some parties have a right to know what is
in your claim file, such as your employer or your employer’s insurance carrier. Also, an employer that is considering
hiring you may get limited information about your claim from DWC.

Your Responsibilities in the Texas Workers’ Compensation System

1.

You have the responsibility to tell your employer if you have been injured at work while performing the duties
of your job. You must tell your employer within 30 days of the date you were injured or first knew your injury
or illness might be work-related.

You have the responsibility to know if you are in a Workers’ Compensation Health Care Network (network).
If you do not know whether you are in a network, ask the employer you worked for at the time of your injury. If you
are in a network, you have the responsibility to follow the network rules. If there is something you do not understand,
ask your employer or call OIEC. If you would like to file a complaint about a network, call TDI’s Customer Help
Line at 1-800-252-3439 or file a complaint online at http://www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/complfrm.html#wc.

If you worked for a political subdivision (e.g., city, county, school district) at the time of your injury, you have
the responsibility to find out how to receive medical treatment.

Your employer should be able to provide you with the information you will need in order to determine which health
care providers can treat you for your workplace injury.

You have the responsibility to tell your doctor how you were injured and whether the injury is work-related.

You have the responsibility to send a completed Employee’s Claim for Compensation for a Work-Related
Injury or Occupational Claim Form (DWC041) to DWC.

You have one year to send the form after you were injured or first knew that your illness might be work-related. Send
the completed DWC041 form even if you already are receiving benefits. You may lose your right to benefits if you do
not timely send the completed claim form to DWC. For a copy ofthe DWC041 form you may contact DWC or OIEC.

You have the responsibility to provide your current address, telephone number, and employer information to
DWC and the insurance carrier. DWC can be contacted at 1-800-252-7031.

You have the responsibility to tell DWC and the insurance carrier anytime there is a change in your
employment status or wages. (Examples of changes include: you stop working because of your injury; you start
working; or you are offered a job).

Eligible beneficiaries or persons seeking death and burial benefits have the responsibility to send a
completed Beneficiary Claim for Death Benefits (DWC-042) to DWC within one year following the
employee’s date of death.

You are prohibited from making frivolous or fraudulent claims or demands.

REV. 06/2012 2



4 RediMD"

get well sooner

Brazos County Workers’ Compensation

Telemedicine Program
Injured employees can choose to see a doctor via
Telemedicine by calling:
888-REDIMDS (733-4635)
24/7 Telemedicine Services for
Brazos County
Works with: Smart Phone, Tablets/I-pads,
Computer with a Webcam
and Internet connection
If you have any additional questions, please contact

Zamayra Cantu at 888-733-4635 or zcantu@redimd.com



mailto:zcantu@redimd.com
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